Q What does Illinois require to obtain the concealed carry permit?
A Illinois requires that you complete 16 hours of accepted training. You may be excused from 8 hours of training if you have prior training that will qualify. Everyone is required to complete an Illinois specific portion that includes federal law, Illinois FOID, Illinois carry law, shooting qualification, and more. If you think you may have prior training check HERE to see if it qualifies. Illinois residents will also be required to submit a $150.00 fee to the Illinois State Police.
Q What do I need to do in order to renew my Illinois Concealed Carry License?
A Illinois law requires that you attend a 3 hour minimum training course. This course will also include a live fire qualification the same as the original application. Illinois residents will also be required to submit the $150.00 renewal fee to the Illinois State Police.
Q Do we bring our firearms to class with us?
A Yes, we will need it in the basic pistol class and portions of the Illinois concealed carry class. We will send out information specific to the class you are taking the week before the class. DO NOT bring ammunition with you to the classroom. We will check all firearms to make sure that they are unloaded.
Q Does it matter if we shoot a semi-automatic or revolver?
A No, it does not matter. Shoot what you are comfortable with. Caliber does not matter either.
Q Do I have to use the same firearm at the range that I used in the classroom?
A No. You can use two different firearms.
Q Do we have to bring our own firearm or can we borrow one?
A If you do not have a firearm, you can rent one from us for the basic pistol class. If you have your own firearm, we encourage you to use it so you become more familiar with it. We do require that you have your own firearm for the Illinois concealed carry class.
Q Do I have to have a FOID card to take your class?
A You do not have to have a FOID card if you rent a firearm from us for the NRA basic pistol class. If you bring a firearm with you or if you enroll in the Illinois concealed carry class you do need a FOID card. If you are not a resident of Illinois you do not need a FOID card. If you you do not have a current FOID card you must be eligible to possess one.
Q I have an application in to the ISP for a FOID can I buy a gun now?
A No. Applying for a FOID card does not guarantee you will be approved for one.
Q I sent my application in for a FOID card. When will I receive it?
A Illinois State law allows for 30 days to approve or deny your application. There have been times when it takes longer than this. If you are renewing your card, allow plenty of time to get it processed.
Q What should I bring to class with me?
A This varies by class. We will let you know what to bring in our emails about your class. You will want to bring a pen or pencil and a notebook. Always bring an open mind and a good attitude. We have a great group of instructors to help you with your training.
Q The ISP site is asking me for fingerprints. Do I have to submit fingerprints?
A You do not have to submit fingerprints. If you submit fingerprints the ISP is allowed 90 days to process your permit. Without fingerprints, they are allowed an extra 30 days. If you choose to get fingerprints, it must be done at a licensed LiveScan vendor in Illinois. We can put you in contact with vendors in Quincy.
Q When I enter in the trainers name from the certificate onto the ISP site it says the name does not match. What is wrong?
A Make sure that you enter last name first and then choose the trainers name from the dropdown menu.
Q I sent in the required paper work for the permit, now what?
A If you sent in fingerprints, the state has 90 days to process your permit. If you did not send in fingerprints, the state has 120 days to process your permit. There is nothing that you can do to speed up the process. If 90 or 120 day elapse and you have not heard anything from the state, give them a call and ask them if they can help you find out what is slowing your permit down. They have been very good at issuing them by the deadlines.
Q I have an Illinois Concealed Carry License now. Can I buy a firearm without a FOID card?
A Yes and no. A change in the Illinois law allows you to purchase and possess a firearm with only the CCL in your possesion. You still have to have a valid FOID card issued in your name but not necessarily with you. Be aware that some retailers policies still require you to show a FOID card. Some law enforcement may not be aware of the change as well.